Off Topic

I think, therefore I harm

Caturbation

In order to increase my viewership, here are some pictures of cats. It’s been a while since I posted anything related to cats, so why not?

The truth is, this week is Semaine de relâche in Québec, the equivalent of what you would call spring break, a full week off in early March. Of course, this only applies to children and teens, but I am lucky. I have three weeks off during the year which dates I got to pick. So I typically pick two weeks during the summer, and then add the spring break to spend with my son.

[Last minute edit: We have registered record breaking low temperature all over Québec this week. So let’s not call this a spring break, right? So much for global warming, huh?]

Being on vacation means sticking out of a routine. Therefore, I didn’t want to post a serious article, which could generate comments which I’d want to read and reply to immediately. Instead, I wanted a lighthearted post which comments would be fun to read between two video games. Beside, it had been a while since I wanted to show you some of my favorite cat pictures.

Without more boring text to read (the purpose of which was to entertain the poor phone users while the pictures were being downloaded), here are some handpicked pictures out of my collection. These are all taken by myself and are all at least two years old. Feel free to download them, stick them to your fridge or glue them to your school agenda. If you republish them, please put a link back to my blog.

Catou

Catou is my elder cat. Since she isn’t an active cat, most of the pictures I have are of her sleeping, or otherwise laying down. To her, being active means sleeping on the floor rather than furniture.

Catou 1

DSCF0357

Tigra

Tigra is the adorable one. She is quite active and spends a lot of time just looking adorable. She knows how to manipulate me, so I will play or pet her at her will. She sleeps on my lap during the day and inches from my face during the night. She loves to hide in boxes and funny places. If she is missing, she is likely in a tight corner or a cabinet.

027

036

test 001

DSCF0803

DSCF1085

Juliette

Juliette is the nervous one. You could spend some time at my place and never know I have more than two cats. She knows the exact path to run through the apartment to reach any of her favorite hideouts without ever loosing a beat or hitting any obstacle. Once you reach her though, you’ll find a sweetheart.

She is very active.  Any object which is not designed as a cat toy is her favorite toy, and she may spend a lot of time with a single toy before she gets bored. She likes to lay on the top of the chair back when I’m at the computer, but if Tigra isn’t there, she sometimes come on my lap. Just to get a cuddle though, she rarely slept on me. She most often sleeps with either Catou or Tigra, but she otherwise spends a lot of time on the border of a window, but never directly in the sun.

Chambre 004

DSCF0886

DSCF1191

Family pictures

My three cats go along well. They know each other, they know when another one wants to play or relax. When it’s playtime, it can get rough, but they always know when enough is enough.

DSCF1020

DSCF0400

DSCF0420

DSCF0493

DSCF0942

The other cats

But wait, there’s more! Here are some pictures of cats which aren’t mine, but which I know well.

DSCF4508

This is Virus, my dad’s cat. I stayed six months at my fathers in early 2010, and he said Virus was now my cat. He adopted me. He slept with me and followed me in the house when I was there.

When he wants water, he takes you to the bathroom and climbs on the counter. He then waits until you open the tap. He will drink there, sometimes for several minutes, and he won’t let you shut the water before he is done. I told my father that he should buy a cat water fountain, but he things he’s too funny to change his habit.

DSCF4533

La Puce, my other dad’s cat. Her name literally means flea, a cute name we typically give to young girls. Yes, she is white like the snow. Her eyes are nearly red too. Her ears are pinkish, like the rest of her skin under her thick fur. Historically a difficult to reach cat, but she is more social nowadays. If she is familiar with you she will come to you. You can pet her, and even snuggle her if you are patient and careful, but you better understand her body language if you want to keep her as a friend.

DSCF1036

Poutchie is my ex’s cat. Beware for behind that colorful cat hides a colorful tiger. She leads her world and is a terrific queen. Unfamiliar people, if they don’t understand the warning through her body language, could well get away with severe scratches. Patience pays off though, as she can be an affectionate cat. She decides when you must pet her and shows you were she wants to be touched.

I have never seen a cat with such a thick fur. You could literally loose your hand in it. Her front paws are very large, with six fingers each (that I could count). I always trimmed six claws on each of her front paws, but each and every time my girlfriend told me I had missed one again. Were there seven? Mind you, I’m the only person that ever cut her claws, even her human wouldn’t have dared.

DSCF0647

Cleo was my friend’s cat, a pretty but hard to approach, nervous cat. She was very active and lovely. Unfortunately, she didn’t accept the new baby and would pee and defecate in the baby’s clothes and toys. She tried everything, but couldn’t find a solution that worked for both the cat and the baby. Eventually, she gave it away to a loving lady that already had three other cats. I don’t doubt Cleo is happy where ever she is now.

DSCF0447

Could you guess who this is? Merlin is Juliette’s brother, born from the same litter. Just like her, he is very active. He is quite a nervous cat too, but not as much as her. He will hide, but he will come back a few minutes later. He grew into a massive, muscular cat, though very slender in appearance.


Which cat did you prefer? Which picture was your favorite? Let me know

4 comments on “Caturbation

  1. sledpress
    March 6, 2014

    Good grief, they’re each cuter than the others! I have a soft spot for Poutchie because my first cat was a long haired calico. And little Cleo looks like my Patricia Twinkle of blessed memory, about whom I must post some time — she had quite a story.

    I am always of the opinion that if the cat and the baby don’t get along, you must give the baby away.

  2. heretherebespiders
    March 8, 2014

    I pick Virus (and what a name! Please give the story on that). Because I love big grey boy cats. I had one named Damien and one named Seymore. Cool cats, both!

    • Tom Duhamel
      March 8, 2014

      I don’t know the story behind that name. Knowing my father, I doubt there were any story behind it, other than he liked it. I may inquire him on that though.

  3. potsoc
    March 12, 2014

    O.K., so hour home sharing twin daughters have three cats: Capucine, the elder, Catherine and Valentin, they currently have a foster called Marou, looks like Catou.

Any question? Have a tip to share? Have a different opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Cats, Pictures and tagged , , .
