Off Topic

I think, therefore I harm

Death Valley – Beer Review

A new micro-brewery beer appeared on the market recently and as I saw it for the first time I knew I had to try it. Let’s say the eloquent name was catchy.

From the back label:

Hop lovers, rejoice! Here is Death Valley, an unfiltered dry-hopped ale with three varieties of hops: Bravo, Saaz and Amarillo. A celebration for your taste buds!

death-valleyI wasn’t disappointed. Just like the name suggest, the taste is very, very strong. Not for Budweiser (aka horse pee) lovers. Being used to this category of beer, I’d say it might even have been just slightly too strong for my taste.

The name, however, had another unexpected meaning. This beer is 8%, which is labeled appropriately as a strong beer – according to our laws, any beer higher than 5% must be labeled as strong. I am used to strong beer, after all I celebrated the end of the world with a 9% beer. But I must say, the alcohol entered my system quite fast. I am not a big drinker, and I am not very resistant to alcohol, but I am not 17. I used a 250 ml / 1 cup glass, because I wanted to drink slowly, but also because I had nothing else (a combination of having three cats and not washing my dishes right away). Well, when I was done with my first serving and went to the kitchen for my second glass, I realized my physical aptitudes weren’t all there anymore. I almost regretted having decided to drink that in the middle of the week as I went to work the next day with a slight headache.

Death Valley, a strong beer on lee with triple hop. By Montréal based Les Brasseurs RJ, a brewery I knew before but not for this category of beer.  Not sure how easily or if you can get them at all outside Québec, but RJ is better known for products such as Belle Gueule, Cheval Blanc, Loch Ness, Titanic and, for the less fortunate, the cheap (as in low price and low taste) Tremblay.

5 comments on “Death Valley – Beer Review

  1. sledpress
    February 20, 2014

    Oh dear, now I want some, and I don’t suppose it will be easy to lay hands on down here in DC, though our “warehouse” wine and beer chain boasts a large inventory.

    You can’t get beer too hoppy for me. I once ordered a Pennsylvania beer called Hop Devil and it was so good I ordered another; half way through the second I saw that the alcohol content was 10 per cent. I was driving that night and there was a long, long browse through the bookstore next door before it was safe to go home. Even though I seem to have an Irish head (or liver) for these things and the only times I have ever been the worse for wear next day involved drinking beer with Brits or Germans — just don’t.

    A current favorite with me is an IPA calling Raging Bitch by the Flying Dog brewery across the river in Maryland. Turns your tongue to suede. Yum.

    As for horse pee beers — my motto is “Friends don’t let friends drink Budweiser.”

    • Tom Duhamel
      February 20, 2014

      I’m sure you’ll like it, let me know if you are able to find it. It will most likely be next to Unibroue beers (which I can guarantee are available in the US), you can also pick one of these as you are there.

  2. Karen
    February 20, 2014

    Death Valley seems unforgettable. I’ve got to try it some day.
    If you ever have an Elephant beer – you might want to remain seated, it’s got 11,8% – very tasty.

    • Tom Duhamel
      February 20, 2014

      Never heard or seen Elephant, but I see it’s from Carlsberg, so it should be available somewhere here. I’ll look into it!

      • Karen
        February 20, 2014

        You might really like it! You might want to try Banana Bread Beer as well (I don’t remember the exact name or brewery; I found it in London, it’s delicious).

Any question? Have a tip to share? Have a different opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
