Off Topic

I think, therefore I harm

The End of Another Year

Fall season just came to an end. Time flies, isn’t it? Just like TV, I take a break for the holidays. I will write a lot though, and I promise a lot of surprises when I return for the winter season on January 8th.

This fall has been crazy. Since September you generated, on average, just over 100 views a week on this blog, with an exact average of 132 views a week over the last 15 weeks. Based on the statistics provided by WordPress, your likes and comments, I estimate that about 20 of you are following me and returning week after week. The rest of you are randomly coming from Google and other search engines, from other blogs, or other mean I have yet to figure out. I write because I like to share ideas and opinions, but this would be pointless if nobody read. Thank you for being there and willing to learn or think with me.

Few of you take the time to comment, and that is fine. Maybe you have nothing to add, maybe you just like to think by yourself or continue a research elsewhere. Whatever is your reason to remain silent, I respect it, I still know you are there. Maybe you will be more talkative in 2014? If you hated any of my posts, I’d like to know about it, tell me what you disliked. Some of you have decided to contact me directly about one of my posts, and I appreciated that. Each of my readers is encouraged to email me about anything, including just having a chat. If you don’t already know my email address, please use the form under Talk to me from the left menu. You can also now hang out with me on G+. Lastly, you can ask for my Skype handle. Don’t be shy, I’m always glad to hear from you, even for negative comments.

In late November, I posted the first of what was supposed to be a series, but I heard you. You didn’t care about that particular topic. However, I tried a few new concepts and your answer was astounding. I will cover more of what you liked. You want to read about pets, I won’t let you down. You like to read my opinion on controversial subjects, I will make you think. You want to learn, so I will surprise you with a few subjects from my interests and which I have never covered yet. I won’t tell you more.

Starting Friday, I will have two full weeks off work. Isn’t that real holidays? I might decide to posts pictures or something if anythings comes up during the holidays. Otherwise, see you on January 8th.

What to read

Last year, I posted Christmas and Egypt, which became my second most viewed article. It remained popular, even during the hot summer months. This is good news since this was an important article to me. But many of you was not following me last year, so if you missed it, please take this opportunity to catch up.

Also last year, I posted Origins of New Year’s Day, an historical explanation of the Gregorian calendar, the one we’ve used worldwide for several centuries. You will learn how January 1st was arbitrarily chosen as the first day of the year.

See? I’ve already covered the holidays last year, so there’s nothing left for me to write about this year.

Winter Wonderland

Last weekend, north-eastern North America (that’s me) got hit by a winter blizzard, which covered Québec with 20 to 30 cm of snow, the first major snowfall of the season. I know some of you do not get much or any, so I want to share a few pictures with you. Living in snow makes you hate it, but let’s admit it, it’s quite beautiful to look at. Please accept this as my present to you.

Catou look out on the snow. I've left the door open for a few minutes. All three cats came to see and smell, but not risked a paw outside.

Catou looks out at the snow. I left the door open for a few minutes (it might not be obvious, but it was open on that picture). All three cats came to see and smell, but none risked a paw outside.

A random man took a walk with his dogs, which apparently liked the snow more than my cats.

A random man taking his dogs for a walk. They apparently liked the snow more than my cats did.

My neighbor plowed his half of the balcony. Time to clean mine. Fortunately, the temperature had been very cold during the blizzard, at -12ºC at the time of the picture, so the snow was very dry and light. Just pushing it down the balcony worked, and it took me only two minutes to get rid of it.

My neighbor plowed his half of the balcony. Time to clean my side. Fortunately, the temperature had been very cold during the blizzard, at -12ºC at the time of the picture, so the snow was very dry and light. Just pushing it down the balcony worked, and it took me only two minutes to get rid of it.

I forced my son to get into the snow for a picture. He picked an area where snow wasn't very deep.

I forced my son to get into the snow for a picture. He picked an area where snow wasn’t very deep.

Halfway through cleaning the car of snow. For those who get little snow, this is the most single worst part of winter. But it wasn't too bad this time, given that snow was dry and light.

Halfway through cleaning the car of  the snow. For those who get little snow, this is the most single worst part of winter. But it wasn’t too bad this time, given that snow was dry and light.

The parking lot wasn't yet plowed, and I wasn't sure if I needed to clean my way to the street or if I should just drive through the snow. Since the snow was this fluffy, I decided to just try and it worked, with just very slight resistance.

The parking lot wasn’t yet plowed, and I wasn’t sure if I needed to clean my way to the street or if I should just drive through the snow. Since the snow was this fluffy, I decided to just try and it worked, with just very slight resistance. Can you tell my car is in the street right now?

There was still some light snow falling when I went. Streets were difficult to drive, one street was even closed as the city was working on cleaning it. To my surprise though, the highway had been well cleaned and was easy to drive, no even slippy. There was little traffic as the media suggested that people stay home unless necessary. I drove slowly and was very prudent anyway.

There was still some light snow falling when I went. Streets were difficult to drive, one street was even closed as the city was working on cleaning it. To my surprise though, the highway had been well cleaned and was easy to drive, not even slippy. There was little traffic as the media suggested that people stay home unless necessary. I drove slowly and was very prudent anyway.

Have a very happy non-denominational holiday season!!

5 comments on “The End of Another Year

  1. sledpress
    December 18, 2013

    What terrific pictures!!! We are snowless down here and to be honest, I don’t mind, but it’s fun to see it anyway.

  2. sarasinart
    December 18, 2013

    I haven’t followed you long, but you write a great blog. One of the few times I ever reblogged one was that excellent one you wrote about animals as presents. I will go back and check out these two you posted that I missed. Thanks for such good posts! Love the cat picture looking out at the snow…………mine won’t go out in it either, lol.

  3. Jacqui
    December 20, 2013

    Wow that snow looks amazing! I’ve still never seen or touched snow in real life before. Looks beautiful!

    • Tom Duhamel
      December 20, 2013

      I’ll swap places any time! Glad that you liked these 🙂

Any question? Have a tip to share? Have a different opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2013 by in Holidays, Pictures and tagged , , .
