Off Topic

I think, therefore I harm

“Why do you smoke?”

I can’t count how many times I have been asked this question, and I count stuff for a living. The only answer I can think of is this one:

“Because I’m the most stupid long haired guy you have ever encountered. That’s why I smoke. Any more question?”

I’m not this rude. I can’t really say that out loud. But that’s about all I can think of. Of course, I don’t know. It brings me absolutely nothing. It makes me waste time and money, and ruins my health. It makes me want to avoid long exposure to areas where smoking is disallowed. It makes me miss interesting encounters. Yet, I can’t quit.

Like many, I tried at a very early age, but then cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough cough.

I was 18 when I really started. Old enough to know, too old to look cool. I had quite a few friends who smoked. Did I want to fit in? I don’t know. But I did.

If I had put a star in the sky every time I tried to quit, the night sky would still look good in large cities. At one point, I succeeded. For nine months. But then I got a job and could buy some again. I never tried again since. If there isn’t a motivation, there isn’t a point to try, and there was never a motivation.

Winter is coming again, meaning I will be a masochist again, and brave the cold weather during breaks. Which the brilliant people spend inside.

I smoke first thing in the morning. I smoke on my way to work. I smoke before beginning work. I smoke during breaks, and I take many breaks. I smoke on my way back home. And finally, I smoke more now that I’m no more restricted. The only moment I don’t smoke is when I sleep. And even then, sometimes I smoke one in the middle of the night.

Oh! I quit now. Until the morning.

11 comments on ““Why do you smoke?”

  1. Lidia
    October 20, 2013

    They say the best way to quit is all of a sudden. Or something. 😮

    • Tom Duhamel
      October 20, 2013

      You are a lot more intelligent than all of us, you haven’t started. Now if I hear that you smoke just one, I’ll shave your hair!

      • Lidia
        October 21, 2013

        I have tried it once, when I was 16. 😛 Well.
        Then I did it for a few weeks, and thought it was a shame to waste my money on this. I never thought it was addicting. 😮

        • Tom Duhamel
          October 21, 2013

          Definitely a waste of everything. Why did you do that? Did you have friends who smoked? Did you need to show your parents you were a grown up? What would you say was your reason for even trying?

          • Lidia
            October 23, 2013

            I was curious, and bored! I was 16 or something. 😛 My parents didn’t know.

            • Tom Duhamel
              October 23, 2013

              I well, I forgive you. But my treat holds. If you try again, I shave your head 😛

  2. sledpress
    October 20, 2013

    It’s the most difficult of addictions, from what I am told. I am not sure why a person would start to smoke but I can imagine how doubly hard it is to forswear something that gives a rush of alertness as part of its gratification. I am lucky because I never could stand any sort of smoke in my pipes — just being near it made me ill and caused me to lose my voice. Never could understand how Carmen hit those clear notes.

    • Tom Duhamel
      October 21, 2013

      It doesn’t seem like they are actually smoking. It seems more like they just blow a bit into it so there is smoke going out of the end of it. I’m sure nobody who smoke could sing like that.

      Good for you you didn’t make that mistake. Or couldn’t do it. 🙂

      • sledpress
        October 21, 2013

        Oh yeah, stage singers learn to fake smoke without breathing in. Just my joke since in the opera all the girls in the chorus supposedly smoke all day long. If it wer realistic, they would just come on stage going ak-ak-ak.

        • Tom Duhamel
          October 21, 2013

          Ah! I couldn’t tell you were joking. I suppose it is less obvious for a nonsmoker to notice that it is faked.

          Anyway thanks for your comment. You add culture to my posts 🙂

  3. Jackie
    October 21, 2013

    It’s not easy to quit but it’s a battle that’s worth fighting. I smoked for 40 years and looking back I wish I had never started. I now have Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary disease – that’s the reality of smoking. A reality that I thought somehow I would escape. How stupid and naive of me! Best of luck to you – I hope you can find a way to quit.

Any question? Have a tip to share? Have a different opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2013 by in Personal and tagged , , .
