Off Topic

I think, therefore I harm

This is my last post

Hello, dear friends. This is my last post. We are December 20th 2012, and in just a few hours the world will reach a end.

Not knowing how it will end, I decided to take no chance and get drunk. But getting drunk in dignity with something that cannot make you look bad. See, getting drunk with a quality beer isn’t the same as getting drunk with a mere Budweiser or Coors.

La Fin du Monde 1

La Fin du Monde 2

La Fin du Monde 3

La Fin du Monde is brewed by Unibroue, in Québec. Unibroue is a subsidiary of Sleeman, and thus it should be available in Europe.

It is a strong 9% ale on lees (which mean, do not drink the very last drop of the bottle). You know what they say about Canadian beer? Well, 9% is quite a strong beer, even for a Canadian beer. It’s delicious, and normally should be drank for taste, not to get drunk. But by the time I’m done with the 6-pack I will be ready for the end of the world. Dying without pain (well, perhaps with pain, but I won’t be able to notice any pain, or notice anything at all).

Now go and translate the name of this beer (using Google Translate or any translator you like) to find out why I selected this particular brand to go through the night. Mind you, this beer wasn’t brewed especially for this special day, I was actually drinking it in the mid-90s when I turned legal. But it turns out to be the perfect beer for this particular date.

7 comments on “This is my last post

  1. Dianda
    December 22, 2012

    Good way to end it! 😉

  2. heretherebespiders
    December 28, 2012

    I’m a little slow to get to this post! Apparently this is because we are now in an alternate reality. I’m glad I’m still here as I got Christmas beer for Christmas! This sounds lovely, even with such a name. Do they explain why they named it so?
    You have hair just like my husband! But much shorter 🙂 Are you still growing it?

    • Tom Duhamel
      December 28, 2012

      You are only 7 days late. Fortunately, it wasn’t really the end of the world 🙂

      Yes, an alternate reality. But we didn’t really notice as it linked directly from the previous one. And the other got destroyed last Friday. No it doesn’t make sense at all, but how am I suppose to make sense talking about an alternate reality?

      I cut them once per decade. Last time was recently. Any question? 🙂

      • Tom Duhamel
        December 28, 2012

        Oh I forgot the other question. No it doesn’t mention the choice of name. But that particular company (Unibroue) has all particularly original beer names. One of them is named after a Québec vulgar word which we are not suppose to say.

      • heretherebespiders
        December 29, 2012

        It’s been nearly 8 years since hubby had a haircut! Me too, but mine won’t grow any longer. Oh well. He gets a lot of abuse from the teens here, do you have the same troubles? I think perhaps men with long blonde hair get more abuse. The curl probably doesn’t help either. Did you see the video of the man in England who had to be removed from a live darts tournament because the crowd turned on him and started chanting ‘Jesus, Jesus’? Well hubby had kids doing that to him in the pub on the 26th. People are just great.

        • Tom Duhamel
          December 29, 2012

          Wow! I don’t know where you live… But here in Québec nobody really cares that I have long hair, it’s not really out of the ordinary actually. Many people actually thinks it’s cool. I would not keep long hair if it was a problem. Some elders do some boring jokes (the very obvious ones) but that’s it.

          • heretherebespiders
            December 29, 2012

            We’re in a very, very small town in the west of Ireland, about 1,500 people. The older folks don’t care but the young men can be very nasty. No way would he cut it off just because of some ignorant sheep-children, even though he has gotten in fights because of it. And lost. Sigh.

Any question? Have a tip to share? Have a different opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2012 by in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
